Home China Briefing China Travel China Market China Business China Economy China Culture China Directory
| China Tourism Overview | China Tour Handbook | China Destination Guides | China Top Attractions | China Tours | China Maps |  
You are here: China Window > China Travel > China Tour Handbook > China Overview
 

China Flights ― Search China flights in Real Time Discount Price Guaranteed Secure On-line Payment

China Trains ― the best online train schedule search service

Discount China Hotels ― Large China hotel booking
Beijing Hotels Shanghai Hotels Hongkong Hotels Xian Hotels Guangzhou Hotels Shenzhen Hotels
Canton fair hotel booking

China Window is always on the lookout for well-written China topic articles: Submit your China topic article
 

China Overview

China has 1.2 billion people, representing 56 nationalities. However, 96% of the population is Han, whose written language is the same wherever you are, but whose spoken dialects can be more different than the languages of Portuguese and French are from each other. Putonghua--or Mandarin--can be understood in most parts of the country. Each United States dollar equals about 7.66 Chinese yuan (as of Oct. 2010). The Hong Kong dollar is pegged to the U.S. dollar at about US$1 = HK$7.8.

The Chinese electrical system operates on 220 volts. The North American standard is 110 volts. Note that you will need a converter to use appliances designed to operate at 110 volts.

The health system in major Chinese cities is sophisticated, and therefore no inoculations are required. However, if you are planning an extended stay--or are venturing to street food stands-- it is advisable to get inoculated.

There is a difference of 12 hours between standard China time and U.S. Eastern Standard Time. For example, at 10 a.m. on Oct. 5th in Beijing, it is: 10 p.m. in New York, 9 p.m. in Chicago, 8 p.m. in Denver, and 7 p.m. in Los Angeles--all on the preceding day, Oct. 4th.

The best travel times in China are spring and fall--i.e., late March, April, May, and early June, and then September, October, and early November. However, our Regent travelers have experienced perfect weather in Beijing in August and the worst flooding along the Yangtze River in September.

China is a large country, home to one of the world's oldest civilizations. For detailed information on China, please visit the China.

We hope that you will be able to experience at least a part of China and enjoy its many splendors!

Return

About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Recommend Us | Partner With Us | Advertise With Us
Link Policy | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Article Policy | Advertising Terms
Site Map
Copyright 1994-2011 China Window. All rights reserved.
2Checkout.com, Inc. is an authorized retailer of China Window

powered by Big Mediumi